2015/ 2016 Common Wealth Distant Learning Scholarships for International Students


Scholarship Name: Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

Brief description

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2015/2016 cover overseas tuition fees at Master’s degree-level and are open to candidates who are citizens of a developing Commonwealth country

Accepted Subject Areas?

Bangor University: MSc Tropical Forestry
Institute of Education, University of London: MA Education and International Development
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
•    MSc Clinical Trials
•    MSc Epidemiology
•    MSc Global Health Policy
•    MSc Infectious Diseases
•    MSc Public Health
London South Bank University: MSc Education for Sustainability
Open University: MSc Development Management
Royal Veterinary College, University of London: MSc Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health
School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
•    MSc Poverty Reduction: Policy and Practice
•    MSc Finance (Major: Economic Policy)
•    MSc Public Policy and Management
University of Bath
•    MSc International Construction Management
•    MSc Integrated Environmental Management
University of Birmingham: MSc International Development (Conflict, Security and Development)
University of Edinburgh
•    MSc Biodiversity Wildlife and Ecosystem Health
•    MVetSci Conservation Medicine
•    MSc Global Health and Infectious Disease
•    MSc International Animal Health
•    MSc Global Health: innovation and education courses (Global Health and Non-Communicable Diseases, Clinical Education, Global Challenges, Paediatric Emergency Medicine, and Global eHealth)
University of Leicester: MSc Risk, Crisis and Disaster Management
University of Liverpool:
•    MSc Clinical Research
•    MPH Master of Public Health
University of Oxford: MSt International Human Rights Law
University of Southampton: MSc Gerontology
University of Stirling: MSc Dementia Studies
University of Strathclyde
•    MSc Finance
•    LLM IT and Telecommunications/Internet Law and Policy
University of York: MPA Master of Public Administration – International Development

About Scholarship

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships provide the opportunity for individuals to study for a UK Master’s degree while living and working in their home country. The scheme was established in 2002, as a direct response to the measures taken by its funder, the UK Department for International Development (DFID), to explore new methods of delivery as part of the drive for poverty reduction. To date, nearly 1,000 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships have been awarded.

Scholarship Offered Since: 2002

Scholarship Type: Masters Distance learning Scholarship

Selection Criteria and Eligibility

To be eligible for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, candidates should:

  • be Commonwealth citizens of a developing Commonwealth country, refugees or British protected persons
  • be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • normally hold a first degree of upper second-class standard, or higher qualification. In certain cases, we will consider a lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience

Eligible African Countries

Botswana, Cameroon, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Other Countries

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji*, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Malaysia, Maldives, Montserrat, Nauru, Pakistan, , Pitcairn, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Vanuatu,

To be taken at: UK Universities

Application Deadline

The deadline for applications is 23:59 GMT on 15 May 2015.

Offered annually? Yes

How can I Apply?

Full details of the application process must be obtained from the relevant institution.

The CSC expects all candidates being considered for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship to have completed an application form using our Electronic Application System (EAS). Full help on how to apply using the EAS is provided in our guides, which should be read in full before making any attempt to use the EAS.

Visit the Scholarship Webpage


UK Department for International Development (DFID)

Speak up