2016 Journalism,Media & Globalization Scholarships By Erasmus Mundus


Scholarship Name: Erasmus Mundus Scholarships

Eligible Field of Study: Journalism, Media and Globalization

About Scholarship

The Erasmus Mundus Master’s in Journalism, Media and Globalisation welcomes applications from graduate students around the world. You can apply for an Erasmus Mundus scholarship, or as a self-funded student.

The Mundus Journalism Consortium is able to offer a limited number of ‘Erasmus Mundus’ student scholarships for students entering the programme from 2012 – 2016. The scholarships are divided into category A and B scholarships. For the 2014-16 edition of the Mundus Journalism programme the consortium will award:

Erasmus Mundus Category A scholarships for third country (non-EU) students

Category A scholarships are expected to be worth €47,000 for the 2016-2018 programme.

Category A scholarships can be awarded to students from countries other than the 28 EU member states (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Nederlands, Portugal, the UK, Sweden, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Czech Republic, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain) and the EEA-EFTA states (Norway, Lichtenstein, Iceland).

Furthermore, you must comply with the 12 months rule: you are not a resident nor have carried out your main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in the above mentioned countries. The five-year reference period for this rule is calculated backwards as from the application submission deadline.

Additional Category A scholarships are expected to be available within the Windows Scheme for a limited number of students from:

  1. Western Balkans and Turkey (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Kosovo)
  2. ENPI South (Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Syria, Tunisia, Occupied Palestinian Territory)
  3. ENPI East (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine)

Erasmus Mundus Category B scholarships for European (EU/EEA) students and others

Category B scholarships are expected to be worth €34,000 for the 2016-2017 programme.

Category B scholarships can be awarded to any student who does not fulfil the criteria for a category A scholarship. The Category B scholarships are connected to the ‘Study Abroad’ programme at our non-European partners (Please find further details in the application form)

European students who are granted a Mundus scholarship will have to study module 5 and 6 in the spring semester at one of our international partner universities: University of California at Berkeley; University of Technology Sydney; and Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile.

Scholarship Offered Since: 2012

Scholarship Type: Masters degree

Selection Criteria and Eligibility

During the admission process, all applications are assessed and graded in each of the categories below:

  • Academic background
    The applicant’s academic ability, previous academic record and academic references.
  • Journalism experience
    Based on the applicant’s examples of journalistic work and references.
  • Motivation
    Based on the applicant’s personal statement – strong, clear statement that demonstrates the applicant’s motivation, commitment and relevant skills.
  • Life experience
    Based on the applicant’s personal statement, CV and reference letters – cultural awareness, organisational skills, language ability, international experience, etc.
  • Language skills
    In addition, applicants are expected to have a minimum Academic IELTS band score of 7.0 if they are not native English speakers (we only accept IELTS tests). Applicants who want to study at Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chili are expected to submit a certified copy of their DELE results or other documentation of their Spanish skills if they are not native Spanish speakers.

Number of Scholarships: Not specified

Value of Scholarship:

Category A scholarships (for international students) are expected to be worth €47,000.

Category B scholarships (for European students) are expected to be worth €34,000.

Duration of Scholarship: for the duration of the program

Eligible Countries: all international students

To be taken at (country): A consortium of eight universities from Europe, North and South America, and Australia runs the Erasmus Mundus Journalism Master’s.

Application Deadline: January 10, 2016

Offered annually? Yes

How to Apply

To apply for the Mundus Journalism programme you will have to fill in an online application form as well as sending an email with a PDF-version of the required documents.

Visit programme webpage for details


Important Notes: Please note that both the application form and ALL supporting documents must be sent in before the deadline – 10 January: otherwise your application cannot be considered.


Speak up