2016 New Zealand Development Scholarships for Africans

Course(s) Offered: Several fields
Course Level: Graduate (cert., diploma, masters, PhD)
Provider: New Zealand Aid Programme
Country to Study in: New Zealand

Scholarship Description
The New Zealand Development Scholarships (NZDS), offered to selected developing commonwealth and non-commonwealth countries, aim to support candidates to gain knowledge and skills through study in specific subject areas that will assist in the development of their home country.

Awardees are required to return to their home country for at least two years after the completion of their scholarship to apply these new skills and knowledge in government, civil society, or private business organisations.

The New Zealand Government invites candidates from both commonwealth and non-commonwealth countries to apply for the New Zealand Development Scholarships for graduate study in New Zealand.

Applicants must meet the following NZDS Scholarships eligibility criteria before their application will be considered against the selection criteria, including any region-specific criteria. Applicants are expected to continue residing in their home country during the Scholarship application and selection process.

Candidates must meet all the scholarship eligibility criteria including:

  • Be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing your scholarship.
  • Be a citizen of the country from which you are applying for a scholarship and have resided in that country for at least the last two years.
  • Agree to return to your home country for a minimum of two years on completion of the scholarship.

Please read the full eligibility criteria on the official website

Eligible groups
Citizens of the following countries:

  • Africa:COMMONWEALTH countries – Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia. NON-COMMONWEALTH countries – Algeria, Angola, Dijbouti, Ethiopia, Egypt, Gambia, Senegal, Tunisia, Zimbabwe
  • Asia: Mongolia, Nepal, Timor-Leste
  • Latin America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Euador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Uruguay, Venezuela
  • The Caribbean:COMMONWEALTH countries – Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Belize, Dominca, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Lucia, St Vincent & the Grenadines. NON-COMMONWEALTH countries – Dominican Republic, Haiti, Suriname

Participating Institution(s)
Approved New Zealand institutions of higher learning

Field(s) of study
Generally, any field that will assist development of the student’s home country. This may be studies related to education, health, rural livelihoods, governance, human rights, or economic development, depending on the human resource development training needs of the home government.

Preference will be given to candidates who apply to study in academic disciplines relating to one or more of the following:

  1. Agriculture development
    • Agri-business management, agricultural economics, agricultural systems and management, rural development, domestic supply chains and distribution, Natural Resource and Environmental Management
    • Biology, vegetable production, livestock/animal husbandry, crop management, sericulture (silk production), forestry, fisheries, aquaculture, agricultural pest management
    • Phytosanitary, bio-security, biotechnology, agricultural trade
    • Food production, food sciences/technology, post-harvest processing, food storage and packaging, food safety
  2. Renewable energy
    • Geothermal, solar, hydro engineering and wind energy, renewable energy distribution systems

Number of awards
Varies per country – several are awarded

Sponsorship duration
Available for Postgraduate Certificate (6 months), Postgraduate Diploma (1 year), Masters Degree (1 – 2 years), AND PhD (up to 3.5 years)

Scholarship benefits
Covers financial support for tuition, living costs while in New Zealand, and airfares. The partners of students are eligible for a work visa that allows them to live and work in New Zealand for the duration of their partner’s study. New Zealand has first-rate education institutions that offer world-recognised qualifications. Successful applicants will have access to excellent academic knowledge in quality facilities.

Method of Application
Applications may be made online or via a paper application. Any eligible country can apply online; however, only citizens of selected countries as listed on the official website (link to it is below) are able to apply using a paper application.

If you would like to apply for a New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarship please note the following: You may only apply using the New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarship Application form as a hard copy. Please note that applicants are unable to apply online. You must submit your application to your local Nominating Agency.

It is important to visit the official website for complete details.

In 2016 New Zealand Scholarships applications can be made online from 1st February 2016. Applications close on 30th April 2016. Paper applications close on 15th April 2016.

Commonwealth countries ONLY: The closing date for New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships is determined by each country’s Nominating Agency. Please contact your local Nominating Agency

The scholarship is funded by the New Zealand Aid Programme – the New Zealand Government’s overseas aid and development programme. They are managed by the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT).

Application Deadline: 15 April / 30 April 2016
Open to International Students: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application (ALL regions & countries)
More Scholarship Information and Application (AFRICA–Commonwealth countries)
More Scholarship Information and Application (AFRICA–non-Commonwealth countries)


Speak up