2017 African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award


Applications are invited for African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award to study in Africa. Applicants from African countries are eligible to apply for this fellowship.

The objective of the award is to recognize, award and honor outstanding excelling African Scientists women, men alike and younger researchers for their scientific achievements, discoveries, and innovations.

Under this program, prizes are awarded to top African scientists in each of the following two sectors (a) Life and Earth Science; and (b) Basic Science, Technology, and Innovation.

Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award is implemented in three levels as below:

  • The Continental Award is open to all African scientists and is the highest level of the programme. It is implemented by the African Union Commission. The two successful winners of the award each receives the current prize of 100,000USD during the Heads of States and Government Summit in January 2017.
  • The Regional Award level is implemented in partnership with the Regional Economic Communities (RECs). It is aimed at promoting the participation of African women in Science, Technology, and innovation. The two winners per region receive a prize of 20,000USD each. For the applications, kindly contact the implementation RECs as outlined in the rules of procedure.
  • The National Young Scientists Award is implemented by Member States who have signed an Implementation Agreement with the AU Commission and its implementation partner TWAS. At the national level, the program is implemented through National Academy of Science or National Research Councils. This award is intended for young scientists both men and women (Aged not more than forty (40) by 31 December of the year of the organization of the Award). Two winners per country receive a prize of 2,000USD each for the 2017 edition. The agreement can be obtained from TWAS via e-mail:prizes-at-twas.org.

The closing date for the applications for the Continental and Regional award is 31st October 2016 and for the National awards kindly contact National Academy of Science or National Research Councils.

More information can be found here


Speak up