University of Stirling International Postgraduate Awards for Specified Countries in Africa, Asia, Europe, Middle East and North America


As part of its ongoing commitment to supporting academic achievement and encouraging student diversity, the University of Stirling is pleased to offer an awards scheme for international postgraduate students – the International Postgraduate Awards.

Awards are offered to students entering directly onto a full-time Masters degree programmes, delivered at the University’s Stirling campus, UK. The International Postgraduate Awards will be offered in the form of a reduction in the overall tuition fee payable. Applicants requiring a Tier 4 student visa will still be required to pay the International Tuition Fee Deposit as part of the standard admissions process.

Although students are invited to apply for other University scholarships, the University will not make multiple awards to an individual student. In cases where a student qualifies for more than one University scholarship or award, the award of the highest financial value will be confirmed.

For entry in September 2017 International Postgraduate Awards are offered to taught postgraduate applicants who are self-funded and liable to pay tuition fees at the overseas rate.

Awards are available for students domiciled in, or nationals of the countries listed below (under Eligible countries), subject to meeting country-specific academic criteria as outlined on the website. For countries in Africa, these criteria are:

  • Ghana – minimum Second Class Honours (Upper Division)
  • Nigeria – minimum Second Class Honours (Upper Division)
  • Kenya – minimum Second Class Honours (Upper Division)

Citizens of other countries and regions should see the website (link to it is below) for their country-specific criteria

Method of Application
Students from eligible countries will automatically be assessed for an International Postgraduate Award as part of the admissions process; there is no separate application required for this award. Students who qualify for award will be notified by Admissions, once academic offer conditions have been met.

All applications must be received on or before the 31st August 2017


Speak up