Masters Scholarships in Australia for African Students 2017/2018


Masters Scholarships in Australia for African Students by Australia Awards

Sponsor: Australia Awards

Australia Awards aim to promote knowledge, education links and enduring ties between Australia and our neighbours through Australia’s extensive scholarship programs. The initiative aims to build a new generation of global leaders with strong links to Australia.In Africa, the Australian Government offers scholarships and fellowships under Australia Awards for African professionals to undertake long-term studies leading to a postgraduate degree and short-term training leading to the acquisition of new skills and knowledge. Long-term awards include Australia Awards Scholarships to undertake Masters-level studies in Australian universities.

Australia Awards are the flagship of the Australian development cooperation program and are an important component of Australia’s investment in education. Scholarships have been an important component of the Australian Government’s efforts to reduce poverty and achieve sustainable development since the 1950s. They offer long- and short-term study and professional development opportunities to citizens from developing countries around the globe. They aim to provide enhanced leadership, knowledge and technical skills to partner governments, tertiary institutions and strategic organisations that are driving sustainable development.


They aim to:

  • develop capacity and leadership skills so that recipients can contribute to development in their home countries
  • build people-to-people linkages at the individual, institutional and country levels.


Country Eligibility for the Masters Scholarship:

Countries that are eligible for this scholarship are:

Nigeria, Morocco,Cameroon, Egypt, Algeria,Uganda, Congo, Kenya, Ghana, Togo,Mali, chad, etc

Australia Awards Scholarships are postgraduate scholarships that lead to an academic qualification from an Australian university. The objective of the Awards is to provide high quality education and training to talented Africans who will be in a position, on their return home, to make an important contribution to national or regional development. Australia Awards Scholarships are currently being offered at Master degree level. Focus sectors reflect areas that have been identified as priorities by partner governments and in which Australia is recognised as having world-class expertise and experience.



Priority Study areas are:

  • Agricultural Productivity
  • Extractives and Natural Resource Management
  • Public Policy (especially those focussed on governance and economic policy, including trade policy)


Applications from exceptional candidates will also be considered in the following sectors:

  • Education
  • Environment
  • Gender Studies
  • Health
  • Infrastructure


For Masters-level Awards, short-listing and final selection exercises take place between January and June of each year. Face-to-face interviews with short-listed candidates are held in May and June. Candidates from countries where English Language Proficiency tests are required should refer to the previous section on English Language Requirements or Support. Australia Awards may also arrange separate English Language testing of shortlisted candidates during the selection process.



All studies undertaken under Australia Awards are in English and, for postgraduate studies at an Australian University, a high level of English proficiency is required.


English requirements for Masters Awards: Candidates for Masters Awards may be required to sit a language proficiency test as part of the selection and course placement process. Language proficiency is tested through the International English Language Testing System (IELTS), an internationally recognised practical English language assessment used by those seeking international education. Alternatively, candidates requiring evidence of English Language Proficiency may also use Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) results. If you are submitting IELTs or TOEFL scores with your application, they should not be more than one year old at the time you make your application.

To progress through the selection process to the ‘shortlisting’ stage, Masters Award applicants must meet a minimum English proficiency requirement equivalent to an overall IELTS score of 5.0, with no individual band score lower than 4.5. To then be eligible for a Masters Award, candidates must also meet the minimum English level required by the Australian university they wish to attend generally this is equivalent to IELTS 6.5, with no individual band lower than 6.0. Candidates prioritised for a Masters Award may receive supplementary English training of up to nine months duration to be completed in Africa prior to taking up the Award in Australia.

The countries for which IELTS or TOEFL results are required for entry into an Australian university are subject to change but currently include (but are not limited to): all North African countries, Francophone and Lusophone countries, Ethiopia, Gambia, Liberia and Sierra Leone.  If your country is not on this list you may still be required to provide an IELTS or TOEFL result as required by the particular university you are applying to or the course you wish to study.


Target Group

  • National of Nigeria
  • Professionals working in the Public Sector, the Private Sector or a Non-Government Organisation (Civil Society) in one of the listed priority fields of study
  • Professionals who wish to undertake a Masters degree in Australia in one of the listed priority fields of study. (Masters of Business Administration are not permitted)
  • Persons with a clear vision of how the knowledge gained through the study of a Masters degree will be used to improve policy, practice or education in the proposed field of study
  • Gender Equality: Australia Awards targets equal participation by women and men
  • Disability Inclusion: Australia Awards aim to ensure that people with a disability are given a fair and equal opportunity to compete for and obtain a scholarship.



  • At least 25 and not more than 50 years of age at the date of application
  • At least three (3) years’ post-graduation work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to the proposed field of study and to employment organisation type (e.g. public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience)
  • Possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) from a recognised institution of at least four (4) years in length with at least a 2nd Class Pass
  • Public sector candidates must comply with Government of Nigeria regulations for government employees wishing to apply for scholarships
  • Public sector, private sector and civil society candidates must provide evidence of completion of the National Youth Service Corp (NYSC) when they apply
  • Must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree
  • Must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award
  • Must meet the general minimum eligibility criteria for Australia Awards Scholarships – refer to the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook 

For those not Nigeria, click on this link  to know your country’s specifications.

Masters level Awards are available to applicants from eligible countries and priority sectors vary by country.  Click here to explore which Awards are available in your country

Deadline: December 15, 2017

For more details and to apply, click on this LINK



Speak up